No Aperture Or Iphoto Libraries In Media Browser

erikvlie

Question

Hi,

I am an editor of an online magazine and I am testing Toast 11 for a review. I have a strange problem: the media browser shows iMovie stuff, iTunes music, but under the Photo tab there is no Aperture or iPhoto to be found...

Is this a bug?

5 answers to this question

First of all: where do you get the idea from an alias has the text "alias"? On my system (Snow Leopard) it doesn't...

Secondly, I thought of that too, but found out it doesn't work. I also tried creating a symbolic link, but that doesn't work either. It becomes even funnier: Aperture 3 has the ability to create and open multiple libraries, right?

Well, try creating a library in the default location with the default name, and it will appear; create one with a customised name and it won't. Bottom line: Toast 11 supports Aperture 2 style libraries and nothing more. I launched a support request --curious to read what they say...

First of all: where do you get the idea from an alias has the text "alias"? On my system (Snow Leopard) it doesn't...

Secondly, I thought of that too, but found out it doesn't work. I also tried creating a symbolic link, but that doesn't work either. It becomes even funnier: Aperture 3 has the ability to create and open multiple libraries, right?

Well, try creating a library in the default location with the default name, and it will appear; create one with a customised name and it won't. Bottom line: Toast 11 supports Aperture 2 style libraries and nothing more. I launched a support request --curious to read what they say...

Your opening remark comes across as a bit surly. When I control click on an item in the Finder and choose Make Alias the item that is created has the file name ending with alias. I'm on Snow Leopard, too.