• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 16 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Split .avi files

Razal

Question

Hi,

I have a 12gb .avi file that I would like to split into smaller .avi's so that I could fit the footage onto DVD's.

Is there a way to do this with the Roxio software such that I can do the split to the .avi's and then out put back to DVD still keeping the .avi format? If not with Roxio, is there something out there that has this capability that someone could recommend?

Thanks

5 answers to this question

Yes. The format is DV AVI which is probably what you captured.

One note of caution.... I did what you're going to do, but after a few months one of the DVDs became unreadable. Luckily, I hadn't overwritten the tape so the footage was still recoverable. That's why I back up to a second hard drive (external or internal) also.

Im no expert, but i just made a DVD from a 12Gb avi file and Roxio compressed it to under 4.7Gb.I keep an iso file and then put the avi on an external back-up to free space

Hi,

I have a 12gb .avi file that I would like to split into smaller .avi's so that I could fit the footage onto DVD's.

Is there a way to do this with the Roxio software such that I can do the split to the .avi's and then out put back to DVD still keeping the .avi format? If not with Roxio, is there something out there that has this capability that someone could recommend?

Thanks

Sure you can with Videowave. Just move the slider to where you want to split and right click it and choose split. You can save each section such as 'moviename' 1, 'moviename' 2 etc.

There's also a free utility that will split the file in any size you want but you won't actually see where it's splitting. It's called Gsplit Nothing fancy here, just simply splitting by file sizes. One that's a little more intuitive is Ultra Video Splitter.

My opinion is that with some very large files, VW is too slow but it can and will get the job done.