• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 6 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Dvd Playback Hesitation

southside_glen

Question

Greetings,

First time post to this forum. I am technically fairly proficient in computers audeio engineering and video editing, but this is my first time with the Roxio software and DVD burning, the latter of which I am quickly coming to understand as a black art to some degree.

I have a 1hr33min video which I edited in Vegas 4 and rendered as an MPEG2 Using their Main Concept plugin. The render specifications for the MPEG file are as follows:

NTSC-DVD video with MPEG Layer2 audio

Variable bit rate (Max: 8Mbps, Avg: 6Mbps, Min: 192Kbps)

720x480 4:3 @ 29.97fps

I'm using this rendered file (which plays back fine in all players on the computer) as the base file to burning a DVD using the DVD Builder app with EMC7 Build 7.1.0.95 ENU. The burner is a Plextor PX-716UF external hooked up to my Toshiba Satellite (2GHz Celeron) via USB2.0 port. I'm using Verbatim 16x DVD-R media, recommended by Plextor and most other companies. Both the drive and the media spec out fine using both the Plextor Pro tools and the Nero benchmarking tools. The projected size of the rendered DVD Burner project is 4088.6MB, which should fit onto the Verbatims with little to no problem.

The DVD appears to burn fine from DVD Burner. And it does play back, and all menu and chapter functions work fine, etc. However the video playback itself is erratic; every so often (maybe an average of once a minute or so?) the video playback from the DVD "hiccups" in that it goes into slow motion for maybe 2 seconds or so then suddenly speeds up to fast motion to catch up to the audio again (which plays back normally without any audible errors through the whole DVD.) These "hiccups" occur thoughout the video from the begining through to the end of the video.