• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 17 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Hd To Sd 4X3 Content In 16X9 Pillar Box

TiffanyClayton

Question

I have an HD project 1920x1080 of a classic movie that was originally shot as 4x3, so basically it's pillar boxed content. I'm making a Blu-ray and need to also make a DVD with the same content. My question is, will this letter box my HD content on a 4x3 TV and if so, how do I get it to Pan and Scan JUST the movie and leave all my menus as LB?

6 answers to this question

I only use this software when I want to produce Blu-ray and DVD with the same project. My movie is always 16:9 format.

Please look at: http://www.videoproductions.com.au/html/folder-structure.html

Do you have tried to use some pictures like menu?

Look at Chapter 11 and pages 30 and 49.

Indeed you have a hard question... and I am not an expert about this software who has a limited interest for me. If I will see a solution I put a new post.

Hi Tiffany,

OK! I can understand your problem: several times I upscaled some old DVD's 4:3. PAN and SCAN is possible with NLE software. If I convert 4:3 to 16:9 the result is a distort video (image stretched). Indeed 1920x1080p can have 4:3 in middle. The video is not real HD but something alike.It has correct look because is not distorted. A few situations I upscaled DVD 4:3 to 16:9 Blu-ray gave me these conclusions.

Hi Tiffany,

OK! I can understand your problem: several times I upscaled some old DVD's 4:3. PAN and SCAN is possible with NLE software. If I convert 4:3 to 16:9 the result is a distort video (image stretched). Indeed 1920x1080p can have 4:3 in middle. The video is not real HD but something alike.It has correct look because is not distorted. A few situations I upscaled DVD 4:3 to 16:9 Blu-ray gave me these conclusions.