VHS2DVD finishing probles

jimbo3

Question

Yes, i'm new to VHS to DVD also and had similar problems. If I try to manually stop a recording by clicking the spinning Finishing icon it seems to never stop and the disc tray locks up. I have to shut down the computer and when I restart it, push the disc eject button on the computer in order to retrieve the disc. My other problem has been having the recording process stop at just over an hr. of recording whether or not I typed in a time such as, lets say 1hr. and 30minutes or just leave it blank and let it run until finished and then manually hit the stop icon. The impression I get from the instructions, it will run timed or untimed to the end assuming I am using discs that will record over 60minutes. What I am using are Memorex DVD-R 16x/4.7GB/120min. discs. Now these may not be the greatest (not realy sure which to use for decent recordings) but aren't they supposed to run beyond 60minutes as they say. What am I missing?

Can anyone give some help that's not so overly technical? Thanks

7 answers to this question

It gets silly when you look :lol:

“Double Layer” is a term applied to DVD+R whereas “Dual Layer” is the term used by DVD-R…

Where is gets silly, is that I have seen “Double Layer” + discs referred to as “Dual Layer” in the same paragraph by manufactures

They ARE different and are recorded and likewise read in a completely different manner. Other than that, they are the same :huh:Wikipedia

Use your Device Manager to read your Drive ID. Then search that ID number to find the specs. Read carefully what it can WRITE to.

As far as ‘dash’ & ‘plus’… Minor differences in the way things are done, all of which are out of our control. Major differences in who holds the Patent and therefore receives the Royalties :lol: