Jump to content
  • 0
Woollyback

Recovering Photographs

Question

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Yes, but.

 

1) If you selected to archive the photos and you added projects to MyDVD, you should be able to explore the DVD and get the images.

2) If you did not do that, copy the DVD to your computer and add the ifo files to Edit Video -Advanced. That should put the video files onto the timeline. You can then go to the images you want and capture them using the camera icon. Remember that you are capturing an image of a video (720 by 480) so they will be very low resolution.

 

There may be other ways but these are the easiest.

 

What did you do with the original pictures? If they are on a hard drive or a thumbdrive, there is software out there to recove the originals if they have been erased BUT have not been overwritten.

Edited by sknis
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Thanks, Digital Guru. I'm pretty much a Luddite on computers and, therefore, the original photos were wiped out when I deleted the file after burning the dvd. I didn't realise that getting rid of the .dmsm file would also get rid of photos/music. I'm a little wiser now and have everything backed up!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Thanks, Digital Guru. I'm pretty much a Luddite on computers and, therefore, the original photos were wiped out when I deleted the file after burning the dvd. I didn't realise that getting rid of the .dmsm file would also get rid of photos/music. I'm a little wiser now and have everything backed up!!

 

Deleting the .dmsm file does not wipe out your music, or photographs. If they are gone, you did something else to wipe them out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Thanks, Digital Guru. I'm pretty much a Luddite on computers and, therefore, the original photos were wiped out when I deleted the file after burning the dvd. I didn't realise that getting rid of the .dmsm file would also get rid of photos/music. I'm a little wiser now and have everything backed up!!

 

If all you deleted was the dmsm file then the original source pictures should still be in the same original location. The Roxio program does not delete/modify any original source files.

Edited by myguggi

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×