• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 7 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Hd Dvd-Video Vs Blu-Ray Video

BluTec

Question

I am new to Toast. I recently purchased v.11 mainly to create high definition DVD or Blu-ray Discs. So far installation and initial tests to burn discs went well. I have a question regarding HD DVD-Video vs Blu-ray encoding. I imported 2h20min of 720p EyeTV program into toast and burned a Blu-ray Disc which played very well on my BD player. Then I noticed that Toast also allows me to burn it on DVD media if I select the HD DVD-Video option. The size of the file shows 3.96GB when I select HD DVD vs 20.5GB when I select BD. Since they are both encoded with MP4-AVC codec, why is there a difference in size and also how does it fit to DVD media? I thought toast could only fit ~30min HD video on DVD media. Is the quality of the image inferior (more compressed) when burned on to DVD vs BD?

8 answers to this question

The HD DVD video is for short videos that can fit to DVD even though they are high-definition. I'm not certain what is the maximum time limit that will fit but I think it is near 30 minutes. The only way to get a 2h20min video on a regular DVD is to choose the DVD-video setting in which case Toast will re-encode it at standard definition.

That's what I thought. But, as I mentioned in my post, Toast fits the same 2h30m video to DVD media as 3.96GB file when HD DVD-video option is selected. Or it fits the video to BD media as 20GB file when BD option is selected. Does this mean HD DVD option compresses and encodes differently than BD option even though both use the AVC encoding?