camdently

How-Creating Hd Dvd Pal Format

Question

In video wave I selected the following output parameters: VIDEO FILE, PURPOSE:HD DVD AUTHORING, CHECKED THE PAL RADIO BUTTON, and this all indicated that the output would be: 1920x1080 @25fps, 28 Mbps. I then went to MY DVD and made the following project settings: proj type: DVD-VIDEO, STANDARD: *PAL CHECKED, NORMALIZE AUDIO, PLAY MOVIE ONLY, PRESET: HIGH QUALITY (HQ) and here is where I have a problem/question as the VIDEO FORMAT IS GREYED OUT AND SHOWS MPEG-2, AND RADIO BUTTON SIZE MAX IS CHECKED FOR 720X576, and nothing changes whether I check INTERLACED or PROGRESSIVE.

I don't think the audio menu section will have any bearing on what my issue is.

This is my first try to generate a dvd for someone in England for Christmas. FOGOT: The output mentioned above from my "PAL" settings in Video Wave has been brought into this project at this time, that all the above settings were made.

My question is do these settings generate a high deg192x1080 PAL compatible movie which is what I am trying to do. If not can this be done and how? Any recommendations ? I don't think I have anything to test this on.

PS Picture file is already set up and generated AVCHD and BD movies for domestic family.

Thanks in advance for your help and attention to this inquiry.

Camendsy

6 answers to this question

MOST European DVD players will play either PAL or NTSC. Have you checked with the person you want to send the DVD to?

No,you settings will not make a high definition video. You can get high definition only with :

1) AVCHD disc made with a standard DVD blank and a Standard DVD burner. That disc will play on blu ray players that will play that format. You can get about 40 minutes on an AVCHD disc.

2) Blu ray disc made with a blu ray disc and a blu ray burner. That disc will play only on a blu ray player.

That is is industry standard.