Radfordhound

Blue Screen Of Death Windows 7!

Question

Well, hi. This is my first time here, so I hope I posted this in the right place/followed the rules.

I bought a Roxio Game Capture HD Pro off of eBay. It arrived this morning and I excitingly hooked it up. I put in the disc, typed the serial code, and installed the software. Everything went smoothly and installed great. Then I plugged the device in. I was a little surprised to see a "no signal" on my tv. Windows detected I plugged in a new device (even though I already installed the software. ) and installed a driver for it. Then, boom! The signal appeared on my tv.

I figured Windows installed the correct drivers for me as I could now see output on my tv screen. I opened the roxio capture software and begun recording. I closed the capture software when I was done. When I played back my final recording I was surprised to see that even on my slow single core laptop, the video was captured in full 1080p and had no lag at all! This made me really excited!

Well, I reopened the capture software and BOOM. I got a "blue screen of death. " It went by too fast for me to read it, but it said something about a "Bad pool header. " My computer restarted and I still had the device plugged in. Once the "starting windows" animation disappeared, my laptop screen stayed black! I tried ejecting the software disc and unplugging the roxio. It wouldn't boot! D:

So, I held down the power button till my system turned off and restarted once more, this time making sure the roxio was unplugged. It booted fine. My PC is perfectly ok.