umrayya

What Is The Best Format For Output When Editing Avchd Files

Question

The product I am using is Roxio 2012. I have used it on Windows 7 and Windows 8 PC's. I am still a newbie to using Roxio Video Wave. I don't know a lot about different video files, and need some advice.

My camera produces AVCHD files, which I frequently edit mainly to produce animal training demonstration videos. My problems occur in selecting the file type for output.

First, if I select the default, which is "AVC better quality", I get the error "unable to build the render graph", and am unable to proceed. I haven't had any success finding a solution to that.

Second, I have tried using various different file types for output, and for the most part the results are terrible quality compared to the original, so I must be making the wrong choices.

So, since AVCHD does not appear in the list of available file formats for output, what file formats would produce quality similar to that of the original AVDHD files?

Let me know if you need more information than I have provided, and thanks for helping out this newbie/wannabe!

9 answers to this question

What output you choose of course depends on what you want to do with the resulting video: burn to a standard DVD or a BluRay Disc, simply create avideo file to be played on a computer or what?

What camera (camcorder ?) make/model do you have? What are the specs of your video from the camera? How did you transfer the video from the camera to your computer?

The more information you supply the quicker you will get the correct help.

Thanks for the quick response, Walt.

The videos I make are intended to be played directly on a computer, or posted on the internet (most often on youtube, sometimes facebook).