Video Skipping During Capture

oahuboy47

Question

Im new to video capture and editing so needless to say Im confused. Im using a sony dcr hc 42. when I attempt to capture the video it skips constantly. It skips also during playback but not as bad. I own a emachines with a 2.7 celeron, 750 Mb of ram, 40 gb harddrive and a fx 5500 video card. when I use some type of compression the playback and capture is better but still skips alittle. Could anyone make a suggestion or point me to some type of tutorial it would be greatly apperciated.

7 answers to this question

First let me say thanks for all your comments and suggestions. Im using USB 2.0 right now, so Ill switch to the ilink cable. Bigger and better harddrive is on the way. Ill check my DMA settings right now. After I get everything Ill post and let you guys know how it went.

henningp001 Wrote...

machine with a 2.7 celeron, 750 Mb of ram, 40 gb harddrive and a fx 5500 video card

Hi henningp001,

Firstly id like to say, dont take these comments to heart but...

A few items to explain why this may be happening.

Intels celeron Cpu's dont have a full Maths Co Processer unlike the Full P4 Cpu, this is a very important part of the whole rendering and performance side of video production, allso the P4 has other Multimedia enhancment added to the core unit as well , giving it the capabilities to render frames fast and provide clean video, unfortunitly Celeron Dont Have Any of these features as intel made them as a budget Cpu for the lower home market, also they remove cache Ram off the cpu as well, So this is your first issue, As This will Not Help You To Render (should allways use a P4 or Similer)

Secondly the video card you are using, this is important as well,

The guru3d.com review of your card (have a look)

Here are a few snipets..

"Simplicity is what the product is about, it's dirt cheap"